2013 Lotus Unveiled – It’s Gold and Black, and Looks like Last Year’s

Lotus – curiously referred to as ‘The Enstone Team’ more often than not – has become the first team to reveal its 2013 contender, having unveiled the E21 online on Monday evening. The car looks, unsurprisingly, a lot like last year’s race-winning design and is an acknowledged evolution. It even features a stepped nose, although we’ve all become so used to them it doesn’t matter. Here’s a picture:

_I4V9536

Designed by James Allison, the black, gold and red car is to be raced by Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean, and continuity in drivers is something that is always a positive. Allison said:

“The E20 proved itself to be an effective racing car – particularly towards the end of last season – so there is an element of expectation from the E21 and plenty to build upon. We have continued with our design themes and tried to create a more efficient and faster racing car based on all the lessons we learnt last year. How successful we have been in this task will only be discovered when we take to the track at the winter tests and – more significantly – at Grands Prix.”

Raikkonen, never the most ebullient of speakers, added:

“Of course, I’ve not driven the E21 yet so it’s difficult to say what could or could not be possible for the year ahead. We know we had a good car last season, but everyone is working hard to make the best package. I will be working with the team to help get the car as strong as we can, then in Melbourne we’ll have our first taste of results. It’s a long season from there. 2012 was a good start; let’s see what we can do in 2013.”

That translates along the lines of ‘leave me alone, I know what I’m doing.’

Grosjean, who has obvious speed but has been criticised for his often rash starts, was more enthusiastic:

“I can clearly say I want to score a lot of points for the team – everybody knows that – but I think it would be wrong for me to say I want to finish in a particular position in the championship. I really want to jump out of the car as many times as possible thinking that I did a good job. Knowing that everything I could do, I did, and feeling proud of my race or session. I hope to feel that way as many times as possible this year.”

Lotus – the Enstone team – finished fourth in last years constructor’s championship. With the ‘big three’ – Red Bull, McLaren and Ferrari – all seeking continuity, and Mercedes looking to jump up a few rungs, it will be a hard fought battle to get any further up the order.

This entry was posted in f1, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

